MY BROKEN FRIEND- PART 2 – POST 131 

Published September 4, 2015 by katysoqewl

I stopped dead in my tracks as I put my bag down. Yaseen had a cut across the side of his face. Dad must have been in one of his moods and took it out on Yaseen. I went over to his place and almost instantly my vision blurred and I could feel water streaming down my cheeks.. Instead of me comforting him, here I was sobbing like a baby.. “It’s okay Nasreen , it wasn’t that bad.. ”

“You… You.. You have a mark, Yaseen.. Why didn’t you cone over last night?” 

“I didn’t want to trouble your mum.. She would have worried sick..”

“Yaseen, you could have come by my window.. I would have opened for you” 

“It’s okay Nas.. Seriously.. Now can you wipe the tears from your face please, I don’t want to have to explain why I made the pretty Nasreen Mahomed cry.. 

I laughed and wiped the tears.. No matter how sad he was, he could always put a smile on others faces.. The day passed and well he came by and told me what happened.. We had some tea and cakes, watched some series and then he went for asr. Something about him was different when he came back. Apart from the disheveled hair and dust clad Kurta, there was a tinge of joy in his eyes and at the core of my heart, I felt something, till now I’m not sure what it was, but it was an emotion that was indescribable.. We spent the afternoon till Maghreb making salads since dad was trying out this diet, which I knew was never going to last anyway, but oh well we grated and peeled our time away.. We had just finished clearing the table, and dad and Yaseen were having their own conversations, about some stock market related business.. Their conversations bore me, so I slipped into my room and checked all my social medias.. Well, there really wasn’t that much to see anyway.. The house phone rang and I ran to answer it.. Heads up I’m the secretary in this house.. It was Yaseens dad asking were he is and why he wasn’t at home.. The usual story.. I told him that Yaseen will be there soon and we hung up the phone.. I think that it’s unintended, but I automatically add a tinge of disgust in my voice when I converse with him.. He barely even knows who he is speaking to, so I doubt he even realizes it, but today he seemed a bit sober.. He seemed more frustrated than doped up… 

It wasn’t long before my theory was proven correct and Yaseens dad showed up, all buoyed up in formal wear.. He never had the usual stench of alcohol on his breath,but his fierce black eyes were ever so prominent.. 

“I need you to pack your stuff now, we leaving” 
  
– YOUR SISTER IN ISLAM 

2 comments on “MY BROKEN FRIEND- PART 2 – POST 131 

  • Leave a Reply

        Dpressedmuslimah

    Just a muslimah struggling with Bipolar Depression

    My Raw version of life

    life through the eyes of an empath

    Nazy's Notebook

    she was like the moon; part of her was always hidden

    The Ethics of "Designer Babies"

    the ethics of the genetic modification of babies

    S.o.I.B

    Story of someone who wants to turn to Allah before return to HIM!

    Taken from my heart

    Love after Marriage

    The night is my veil

    my weapon is to pray ,will i miss my target??

    The Sparkling Labyrinth

    Durban lady working through the maze

    Her Track

    For every direction she wants to go.

    Taking My Life as it comes

    Just another girl taking life as it comes...

    Islamic Reflections

    Islamic Messages-Quotes-E-Cards-Graphics

    hadiyyatulinisaa

    A GIFT FOR YOUNG MUSLIMAHS

    Pearls of a Muslim

    O Allah, help me to remember You, to thank you, and to worship You in the best of manner

    Marriage Seeeking Muslimah

    In the name of Allah, the Most Merciful

    Small Town Blogger

    Travelling the world, hoping to find beauty in imperfection.

    The Survival Place Blog

    Surviving The World As We Know It

