MY BROKEN FRIEND – PART 4 – POST 133

Published September 15, 2015 by katysoqewl

That night as I lay in bed, trying to get myself to sleep, I tossed and turned.. I laid in pensive mood for quite some time as my mind ran different scenarios and then dismissed the illogical ones.. I wondered what he must have been doing at that moment… Whether or not he had a roof over his head and it was in that moment that I realized that I loved this guy like a brother… We might not be linked by blood, but the bond we shared was unlike any other… He was this brotherly figure to me, after whom I had to look after.. I felt moisture around my eyes as I recalled some of the painful instances he had been in.. I read my fajr salaah, and decided to go for a run.. I sat at the embankment of the river and watched as dawn broke out on the horizon.. The glittering sunlight made the clear water sparkle and I sat lost in thought.. I was brought back to reality by the sudden movement in the water… A fish… I watched as it casually jumped out of the water and back in.. I was almost certain I had seen a flicker of joy in its hazel color eyes.. 

As it disappeared beneath the water surface, it created a ripple effect.. This small gesture would have seemed insignificant any other day, but today it meant something.. It thought me a lesson that no words could have thought me.. As the ripples spread and eventually reached the embankment, I watched as it drowned the weeds scattered there, but just as quickly did it return to normality.. 

In life every action that we do has a reaction.. When we do things, we shouldn’t consider ourselves only, because believe it or not, our actions sometimes determine the condition of others.. 

I returned home, perplexed at how this simple gesture some how gave me solace and comfort.. I guess I really never will know why some people don’t see the broader picture, but i think that from now on, I won’t be as oblivious to the little things in life anymore.. 

As for my brother-like friend, he will always live on in my heart and while I may not be able to comfort him verbally, I will surely hug him with my Duaas.. And inshallah we will meet in Jannah.. 

  
– YOUR SISTER IN ISLAM 

Leave a Reply

Dpressedmuslimah

Just a muslimah struggling with Bipolar Depression

My Raw version of life

life through the eyes of an empath

Nazy's Notebook

she was like the moon; part of her was always hidden

The Ethics of "Designer Babies"

the ethics of the genetic modification of babies

Taken from my heart

Love after Marriage

The night is my veil

my weapon is to pray ,will i miss my target??

The Sparkling Labyrinth

Durban lady working through the maze

Her Track

For every direction she wants to go.

Taking My Life as it comes

Just another girl taking life as it comes...

Islamic Reflections

Islamic Messages-Quotes-E-Cards-Graphics

hadiyyatulinisaa

A GIFT FOR YOUNG MUSLIMAHS

Pearls of a Muslim

O Allah, help me to remember You, to thank you, and to worship You in the best of manner

Marriage Seeeking Muslimah

In the name of Allah, the Most Merciful

Small Town Blogger

Travelling the world, hoping to find beauty in imperfection.

The Survival Place Blog

Surviving The World As We Know It

terry73's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

